Author Archives: sincbordercrimes

October Meeting: A Peek Behind the Publishing Curtain

Journey behind the scenes of publishing with Sarah Henning, author of this summer’s fantastic debut YA fantasy Sea Witch. Sarah, a former member of the Border Crimes chapter, will lead a discussion about her experiences publishing her first novel and the different challenges she faces with her second novel and beyond.

Get real answers to the questions you know you have: What’s it like to work on contract? How does that change when you have multiple books under contract at the same time? What are the dynamics of working with different editors at a publishing house? What does an agent do for an author?

Bring your questions and bring a friend! 11 a.m. Saturday, October 6, at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam, Kansas.

Bio
Sarah Henning is a recovering journalist who has worked for The Palm Beach Post, Kansas City Star and Associated Press, among others. When not writing, she runs ultramarathons, hits the playground with her two kids and hangs out with her husband Justin, who doubles as her long-suffering IT department. Sarah lives in Lawrence, Kansas, hometown of Langston Hughes, William S. Burroughs and a really good basketball team.

https://www.sarahhenningwrites.com/
Twitter: @shhenning

Sarah’s books

Sea Witch
(July 31, 2018, Katherine Tegen Books/Harper Collins)

Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea’s most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.

Ever since her best friend Anna died, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. Hiding her talents, mourning her loss, drowning in her guilt.

Then a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears on the shore, and the two girls catch the eyes of two charming princes. Suddenly Evie feels like she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But magic isn’t kind, and her new friend harbors secrets of her own. She can’t stay in Havnestad—or on two legs—without Evie’s help. And when Evie reaches deep into the power of her magic to save her friend’s humanity—and her prince’s heart—she discovers, too late, what she’s bargained away.

“This spin on The Little Mermaid is full of plot twists and heart-in-throat action. Fans of twisted fairy tales will find plenty to love.” – Booklist
ABA Indies Introduce Summer/Fall 2018 Selection
ABA Indies Next Summer 2018 Selection

Throw Like a Girl
(Fall 2019, Little, Brown/Poppy)

A contemporary romance and underdog story about a former championship-winning softball pitcher who has to prove she can be a team player by becoming the not-so-backup quarterback on a rival high school’s football team. Publication is scheduled for fall 2019.


This meeting will be held at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam, Kansas.

Advertisements

May Meeting

The May meeting of the Border Crimes chapter of Sisters in Crime will be 11 a.m. Saturday, May 7, at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam.

Our speaker will be Professor Jennifer Welch of the Johnson County Community College Criminology Department. Professor Welch has experience in corrections; specifically, parole.

 The meeting is free and open to the public.

Mystery Readers and Writers Day with Rhys Bowen

BORDER CRIMES CHAPTER OF SISTERS IN CRIME
Mystery Readers and Writers Day with Rhys Bowen
9 a.m. – 3 p. m. August 6, 2016
Second Presbyterian Church
318 E. 55th Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64113

Mystery Starts Contest

Final judge is award-winning mystery author Rhys Bowen.

The three winning entries will receive awards at the Mystery Readers and Writers Day with Rhys Bowen.

Read on for general contest rules, formatting rules for entries, and submission guidelines.

Continue reading

April Meeting: Art and Social Justice

The April meeting of the Border Crimes chapter of Sisters in Crime will be 11 a.m. Saturday, April 2, at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam.

Speaker Lauren McGill is an artist, writer, and printmaker. Lauren is a graduate of the Kansas City Art Institute and is the communications and programming organizer for the Inter Urban Art House in Overland Park, Kansas. She has worked on the annual “Art in the Stacks” at the Antioch Branch. “My work sheds light on social justice issues that affect minority populations by using art to tell the stories of both individuals and groups,” she say.

The meeting is free and open to the public. Members are invited to stay after the program to discuss committee plans for our August 6 workshop with Rhys Bowen.

BC Mystery Writing Group – March Update

The Border Crimes Mystery Writing Group had a lively and fun discussion of Alexander McCall Smith’s The No. ! Ladies Detective Agency this month. The group’s next meeting will be May 21. Juliet Kincaid will lead a discussion of Mary Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette? And on June 18, Joyce Ann Brown will lead a discussion of one of Lillian Jackson Braun’s mysteries, title to be determined.

The BC Mystery Writing Group meets once a month, from 10:30 to noon, at the Winstead’s at 8036 Metcalf, Overland Park, Kansas. All dues-paying members of Sisters in Crime–readers and writers–are welcome to attend.

 

 

March meeting: Paranormal investigation

Our March Border Crimes/Sisters in Crime meeting is 11 a.m. this Saturday, March 5, in the large meeting room of the Antioch branch of the Johnson County Library at Antioch and Shawnee Mission Parkway.

This is going to be such a cool meeting. Our speaker is Becky Ray, investigator and founding member of Kansas City-based Paranormal Activity Investigators (www.ghost-investigators.com), which has been researching the unknown since 2003. Their work has been featured in local television, radio, and newspaper stories, as well as NPR, The National Geographic Channel, and the Wall Street Journal. Becky contributes her photographic and videographic skills on each investigation, as well as analyzing items e-mailed to the group.

The meeting is free and open to the public.

 

September: Audiobooks, ACX, and Working with Narrators

Speakers: author Diana Staresinic-Deane and audiobook narrators Felisha Caldeira and Diane Marty
Saturday, September 5
11:00 to noon
Corinth Branch of the Johnson County Library
8100 Mission Road, Prairie Village, KS 66208

Being a big-time audiobook consumer herself, author Diana Staresinic-Deane wanted to offer an audiobook version of her own book. Thanks to ACX, she was able to make her book available through Amazon, Audible, and iTunes. However, she couldn’t have done it without a narrator holding her hand. ACX Narrators Felisha Caldeira and Diane Marty will talk about the process of creating an audiobook and working with authors to successfully turn writing on the page into the spoken word.

Diana Staresinic-Deane
Diana is a Kansan-gone-Californian-gone-Kansan. Fascinated by little Kansas towns and their histories, she’s happiest when she’s digging through old newspapers and exploring old cemeteries. She is the author of Shadow On the Hill: The True Story of a 1925 Kansas Murder, about the murder of Florence Knoblock, the most brutal killing in Coffey County, Kansas. She is currently researching an old murder case in Republic County, Kansas, and working on a novel set in Kansas. You can follow Diana’s Kansas adventures on her website, Diana Staresinic-Deane: Unearthing Stories on the Prairie.

Felisha Caldeira
Felisha is a professional actress who grew up on the coast of California and somehow found her way to the MidWest. She holds a B.A. in Theatre Arts from Westmont College and has been trained in classical vocals, musical theatre, vocal dialects and accents, and has experience with film. She aspires to serve God and live life to the fullest one story at a time. Her audiobook credits include Polishing Jade by Tekoa Manning, The Place of Voices by Lauren Lynch, Wedding the Widow by Jane B. Knight, Tokens From Juliet by Nicole Grane, and Redemption (The Restoration Series Book 1) by Christina Simpson.

Diane Marty
Originally intending to be a broadcast journalist, Diane has on- and off-camera poise and a script supervisor’s attention to continuity and detail. She has been praised by producers, directors and writers for her flexible talents (a “unique melodic voice” with “warmth and clarity” in roles ranging from Hallmark toys and characters to gritty adult dramatic roles) as well as her professionalism and typical Midwestern rapport (“great communicator,” “timely,” “very prompt,” “definitely one of our favorites”). In addition to her professional fundraising activities, she finds audiobook narration another wonderful way to contribute to education, early literacy and also to cultural and recreational enjoyment. Diane holds a B.A. from Grinnell College and a master of arts and liberal studies from Dartmouth College. Her audiobook credits include The Wedding Chapel (Caroline Andrews), Cassidy & the Rainy River Rescue (Author Keely Chace & Illustrator Nikki Dyson), Cassidy & the Shaky Sheep Showdown (Chace, Dyson). Currently in production: Chaperoning Paris (Victoria Pinder); Alexander Ranch (Marla Josephs); and Callie: The Women of Valley View, Book 1 (Sharon Srock).