No November Meeting

We were scheduled to meet on Saturday, November 3. The goal of our November meeting was to do some brainstorming and planning for 2019. However, many of our regular Sisters have messaged and e-mailed me to let me know they will not be able to attend. I believe this meeting is too important to have without the voices of the writers and readers our decisions will affect. We’ll come up with online ways to have this conversation. In the meanwhile, put December 1 on your calendar: author Julie Mulhern will be our speaker!

Advertisements

October Meeting: A Peek Behind the Publishing Curtain

Journey behind the scenes of publishing with Sarah Henning, author of this summer’s fantastic debut YA fantasy Sea Witch. Sarah, a former member of the Border Crimes chapter, will lead a discussion about her experiences publishing her first novel and the different challenges she faces with her second novel and beyond.

Get real answers to the questions you know you have: What’s it like to work on contract? How does that change when you have multiple books under contract at the same time? What are the dynamics of working with different editors at a publishing house? What does an agent do for an author?

Bring your questions and bring a friend! 11 a.m. Saturday, October 6, at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam, Kansas.

Bio
Sarah Henning is a recovering journalist who has worked for The Palm Beach Post, Kansas City Star and Associated Press, among others. When not writing, she runs ultramarathons, hits the playground with her two kids and hangs out with her husband Justin, who doubles as her long-suffering IT department. Sarah lives in Lawrence, Kansas, hometown of Langston Hughes, William S. Burroughs and a really good basketball team.

https://www.sarahhenningwrites.com/
Twitter: @shhenning

Sarah’s books

Sea Witch
(July 31, 2018, Katherine Tegen Books/Harper Collins)

Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea’s most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.

Ever since her best friend Anna died, Evie has been an outcast in her small fishing town. Hiding her talents, mourning her loss, drowning in her guilt.

Then a girl with an uncanny resemblance to Anna appears on the shore, and the two girls catch the eyes of two charming princes. Suddenly Evie feels like she might finally have a chance at her own happily ever after.

But magic isn’t kind, and her new friend harbors secrets of her own. She can’t stay in Havnestad—or on two legs—without Evie’s help. And when Evie reaches deep into the power of her magic to save her friend’s humanity—and her prince’s heart—she discovers, too late, what she’s bargained away.

“This spin on The Little Mermaid is full of plot twists and heart-in-throat action. Fans of twisted fairy tales will find plenty to love.” – Booklist
ABA Indies Introduce Summer/Fall 2018 Selection
ABA Indies Next Summer 2018 Selection

Throw Like a Girl
(Fall 2019, Little, Brown/Poppy)

A contemporary romance and underdog story about a former championship-winning softball pitcher who has to prove she can be a team player by becoming the not-so-backup quarterback on a rival high school’s football team. Publication is scheduled for fall 2019.


This meeting will be held at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam, Kansas.

No September Meeting

Due to a number of unforeseen circumstances, we won’t meet this Saturday (September 1). BUT! Mark your calendars for the October meeting, when the delightful Sarah Henning will be our featured speaker. Her debut novel, SEA WITCH, came out July 31. It’s the origin story of the sea witch of Hans Christian Andersen fame, and it’s wonderful. See you then!

August Meeting: Let’s Talk Podcasts

You might already be one of the 26 percent of Americans who are already regular podcast listeners. Or maybe you have no idea what a podcast is and you’re afraid to ask.

So what’s the big deal about podcasts, and why do they matter to writers and mystery writers especially?

When you think about podcasts, think about radio shows you can download to your phone or computer and listen to whenever you want. Podcast formats can include anything from a tightly written 20-minute news program or an hour-long program where two friends shoot the breeze on a different topic each week. Podcasts can be journalistic (think: NPR) or serial fiction, like the programs from the golden age of radio.

And during the last week of July, three of the top ten most popular podcasts downloaded from Podcast streamer Stitcher were in the true crime field.

For writers, podcasts offer opportunities for inspiration, research, promotion, and a new market for the written word. During the August meeting, writer and podcast junkie Diana Staresinic-Deane (who listens to enough podcasts to make up for everyone who doesn’t), will share some of her favorite podcasts as well as discuss opportunities for writers who might be interested in trying the format.

Already a podcast listener? Be ready to share what you listen to and why. Want to try out a few podcasts? Here are a few that will get mentioned Saturday:

Criminal “Stories of people who’ve done wrong, been wronged, or gotten caught somewhere in the middle.” Journalistic storytelling that stays with you long after the podcast is over. (listen on most podcast apps or online)

My Favorite Murder A weekly true crime comedy podcast that regularly ranks at the top of itunes and Stitcher downloads and includes live shows that travel all over the world. The Washington Post did a great article on this podcast last year. (listen on most podcast apps–note that this one has a lot of adult language)

Trace Evidence A well-researched podcast focused on unsolved crimes and missing people. Transcripts and sources are listed on the website. (listen online on via most podcast apps)

Up and Vanished It was meant to be a chronicle of the making of a documentary on the unsolved disappearance of Tara Grimstead; it ended up leading to the arrest of her alleged murderer. (listen on online or via most podcast apps)

American Hauntings Where there are ghosts, there are stories of crimes. Troy Taylor is an author and historian who started podcasting to share his knowledge with a bigger audience. (listen online or via most podcast apps)

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark Michelle McNamara didn’t live to see her work on the Golden State Killer published, but Harper Collins created a “making of” podcast featuring her husband and collaborators to give a behind-the-scenes account of who McNamara was and how the book came to be. (listen online or via most podcast apps)

Deadly Manners A fun serial fiction murder mystery program with a complete cast. Think: old-timey radio meets the movie Clue. (listen via most podcast apps; scripts available online)

This program is free and open to the public!

Join us Saturday, August 4, at 11 a.m. at the Corinth Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8100 Mission Road, Prairie Village, Kansas, 66208.

June Meeting: The Writing Journey featuring Nancy Mays

MFA. Journalism. Entrepreneur. All these and more apply to our speaker, NANCY MAYS. 
Join us to hear Nancy discuss her journey. She is a former newspaper reporter and longtime corporate communications/public relations professional. Her travels led her to work for news outlets in Kansas and Caracas, Venezuela. In the corporate field, she led communications PR efforts for Applebee’s, H&R Block and Johnson County Government.Currently, Nancy  finds herself steering her own small communications consulting firm that specializes in healthcare companies.
To further her writing endeavors, Nancy earned an MFA from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 2017 at the tender age of 55. Her short stories have been published in the Mid-American Review, the Colorado Review, Eclectica  and forthcoming in Ploughshares. Nancy lives in Lenexa with her husband and celebrates their first year as empty nesters. The journey continues. And so does ours, as we all gather to discuss our passion: writing.
Join us Saturday, June 2, 11 a.m.! This program is free and open to the public. This meeting will be held at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam, Kansas.

May Meeting: Alarms, Locks, and Outmaneuvering Home Security

Ever wonder how the bad guys get into places most people consider well protected? Or how that expensive lock failed to fortress your home? Join us for a discussion lead by Tom O’Connor.

For the past seven years, Tom has turned his focus to residential and commercial security, and currently works as a Senior Alarm System/Home Automation Consultant with Central Security Group. He knows a great deal about the bad guys and their tricks. But there’s more. Tom had top security clearance with the DOE and had his own consulting business with clients like the DOD. Ask him about his top client — A personal bodyguard. Count on an hour filled with interesting and fun topics that will inspire a great scene, prompt a new thriller, or work into a rich mystery.

Join us Saturday, May 5, 11 a.m.! This program is free and open to the public. This meeting will be held at the Antioch Branch of the Johnson County Library, 8700 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Merriam, Kansas.